Potential Purchase Advice

wtpgc

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie but long time admirer of GW boats. Admittedly, though, my knowledge of them is very limited. So I seek some assistance in a possible purchase.

I'm looking at a late 80's sailfish 25 with the bracket. I'm aware that this is before the change to the SeaV2 hull. Current observations from discussions with the owner and seeing it in person:

It has newer fuel tanks (I've confirmed they're done right)
Significant amounts of rewiring, the terminal connections are heat shrinked and look good (would plan on re-wiring anyway to meet my standards)
2000-era 2-strokes that have been rebuilt (would consider repower at some point in the future)
Some fiberglass repair work has been performed on the stringers and cabin. I have some experience in boat-building and the glass work looks good.
The transom bulkhead has been reworked as well and looks good.
Shower/kitchen/head has been removed and reworked to have just the potty
Floor is not spongey or soft anywhere that I checked
All systems work except for the raw water washdown pump

Overall, its a boat that shows it age but appears to be fairly well maintained. I have not yet checked the transom or taken it for a spin.

The boat will be used for moderate offshore fishing, probably not to exceed 50 miles. I've read that this is a pounding, harsh riding, wet boat. None of those things are appealing. I'm not into speed, but the family needs to be comfortable if I expect them to go with me. Fuel consumption meters are showing approximately 1.2 MPG.
What else should I be looking for on this era of boat? Also, I've read some negative comments on another board regarding repowering with 4-strokes due to the weight. Going from the current motors to newer 4-stroke yammies would likely yield about 300 pounds increase in the overall weight.

Thanks in advance for your help.

JeffN

Reaction score