Advice on Water intrusion on 330 express

nuketech007

Reaction score
Hi All,

:noob here.

Just had a survey on a 2004 grady express today. Surveyor noted that an area of water intrusion was detected on the portside aft at overboard drains. Hit it with the hammer and made a dead sound.

The area affected was about a 1 to 1 1/2 square foot area. Was told I'd need to get this fixed. They'd take the wet stuff out and replace it with a composite or something?

Any major concerns about this?

Thanks in advance.

HMBJack

Reaction score
If you are very sure that is the area of leakage, then I'd have the repair performed. But you must be very sure. It would be sad if you had all of that work done (gelcoat match , etc.) and the bugger still leaked. It's a boat so on a 14 year old 330, I suppose it's not to be unexpected. The good thing is that area of the hull is non-structural so it should be an easy fix.

One area on my 330 that leaked was the horizontal joint where the transom engine mount section met the vertical interior sides. There's a small 3" squarish shaped plate there where the caulk underneath it loosened up. You can't see anything unless you removed the little plates. I removed and re-bedded the area under these plates, with 3M 4200 and the leak was gone.

So, I'd say to fix that area of yours but be very sure it's the root cause of your leak, that's my two cents. Good luck!

nuketech007

Reaction score
Thanks HMBjack

Nothing is for certain I suppose but without opening her up it appears the wet area is right around the overboard drains. Surveryor didn't notice any dead sounds anywhere else on the hull.

seasick

Reaction score