Transducer through hull install

IBeGrady'd

Reaction score
I'll be replacing my old lowrance GPS/Sonar soon and I'm thinking that replacing the old transducer might be prudent (or necessary). Anything thru hull makes me nervous and I've zero experience with anything below the waterline.

Is this a do it yourself project or something best left to a pro?

Thanks

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
First... if the current transducer is working and COMPATIBLE with the new one, I'd leave it be for now. You're not really saving any labor time by doing it now as compared to later. But, I'll answer the question based on replacement...

It is a DIY, but it all depends on the "Y". If you're uncomfortable with it, have a pro do it. It's probably a 2-hour-ish job, max. Could be money well spent for piece of mind. Would I do it myself? Sure. Would some other people that answer do it themselves? Sure. But, honestly, what I (or others) do, has no impact on you. Do what feels right for you. Download the instructions, read them a couple times, and see what you think.

seasick

Reaction score
I agree that if the current model is working, you should leave it for now.
Secondly, if you are uncomfortable putting a hole in your hull, you will sleep better by not planning on doing so:)
If you do go ahead, there are two critical issues to address: Getting the correct model x-ducer and installing it in the correct spot. The later issue is really important because if in a bad spot there is no fix other than to move it and patch the first hole. The best way to find out the optimal location is to find folks with the same hull and see where they installed the transducer and if it works as needed. Often, the best spot on the hull is not easy to get to inside the bilge.
Good luck

IBeGrady'd

Reaction score
DennisG01 said:
First... if the current transducer is working and COMPATIBLE with the new one, I'd leave it be for now.

seasick said: