Dealership error in Bottom Paint application ?

Dantheman

Reaction score
The dealership that brokered my 06 gulfstream purchase applied a coat of anti-fouling bottom paint before delivery of the boat to me. (The prior owner kept the boat on a rack when not in use and the boat was never bottom painted) After having the boat for a few weeks, I noticed that in the stern and aft area the bottom paint appears to be higher that the water line by about an inch or two. However, it looks like in an area in the forward section of the hull, (5 feet long) the ani-fouling paint is an inch or two below the water line and some kind of brown buildup appears to forming in the area that is not covered by the anti-fouling paint. In addition to ruining the look of the boat, I am afraid this will cause damage in the long run. I am new to boating but common sense would be that the anti fouling paint should be evenly applied so that none of the non-applied area sits in the water. Was the bottom paint not applied correctly? what should I do? wait until next year and apply a new coat, or does this need immediate action? Thank you in advance for any advice.

leek

Reaction score
Bottom Paint

I would take the boat back to the dealer and have them clean the hull and repaint it, unless you did something to influence the way the boat floats (lots of chain in the anchor locker(or other added weight in the bow) or no fuel in the tanks).
If left undone it will stain the boat but may not structurally affect the hull. Depending on the water it may grow barnacles or grass as well.

Tashmoo

Reaction score