Fisherman 222

GWFM222

Reaction score
Model
Fisherman 222
I am new to Great Grady and just purchased a 2005 Fisherman 222. My plan is to go out and fish it before taking on any projects to customize.

There’s one area that I am hoping to get some input on and that’s locating a chart plotter outside of the glove box in the console. I am looking for at least a 10” unit so that won’t fit in the dash by the gauges. I was considering mounting on the overhead electronic box but wasn’t sure if that would be to high.

Has anyone found a better location for a chart plotter outside of the glove box?
Thanks

Mustang65fbk

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
My thoughts on the matter, and admittedly I have no experience with a 222 Fisherman, but I'd either mount something inside of the electronics compartment/dashboard behind the wheel or something outside of it. I've got a 2004 GW 228 Seafarer with a Garmin 943xsv located inside the electronics compartment and really like it there. It's protected from the elements like the sun and the rain, it can be locked up, it's easily visible when either standing or sitting and I have no complaints with the location. I prefer Garmin over the other brands for being easy to use and from what I've seen, really good products that seem to be at least comparable to the others out there. I also prefer touchscreen only, and without any buttons on the MFD, so that's one of the reasons why I went with the 943xsv. Another reason was the price in that I got it for $1,399 and didn't want to spend another $1,000-$1,500+ getting a larger 10"-12" unit. A lot of guys have pulled off the screws/hinges and enclosed the compartment with starboard or something similar and then flush mounted a display on the outside. I briefly considered doing that and then decided to go against it for the reasons stated above as well as I didn't have the time or resources available right before replacing my old unit.