New to Boating ; Safety Question

Dantheman

Reaction score
Hi all. I purchased a 2006 Gulfstream w/ twin 150s and need to bring it from Delaware to Jersey City where I live. I am new to boating. Am I asking for trouble if i plan on bringing it up myself using the intracoastal or is this something that can be safely accomplished?

magicalbill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Marlin
I have an '07 232 Gulfstream with twin 200 Four-Strokes..

Your boat is plenty seaworthy enough for that jaunt...

If you are new to boating, don't go by yourself..Take a knowledgeable companion with you..there are too many things that could happen that will sneak up on novice boaters.
Have your bud show you the ropes as you go...best way to learn as opposed to reading books...
At your leisure, take a boating course, Coast Guard Auxiliary..Power Squadron, or whatever...That will teach you Chart-reading/Navigation, Seamanship/Boat Handling...All the stuff...

You are starting out with a fairly large boat in coastal waters as opposed to a Bayliner on an inland lake...Start slow, have a good teacher and you'll be hooked from now on,...

Have Fun

Magicalbill....

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score