Possible Spun Hub PowerTech 4 Blade

Andrew93

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Express 305
I recently got some lightly used OSF4’s for my 305 Express with F250’s. Was real happy with the performance of them initially. The last 2 times out I noticed one motor sounds like it is slipping under load. At cruise if I trim up at all the RPMs with dramatically increase on just the port motor.

Curious if anyone has experience with a spun power tech cushion lock hub? Looks like I can replace the rods if that seems to be the culprit.

seasick

Reaction score
Rods in theory can be replaced. Here is a link to one company but they are out of stock. I don't know how easy or hard it is to replace the rods. You might be better off takin the prop to a prop shop for advice.

Or you can replace the hubs with a different design

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
I have no experience with those, but... just thinking out loud...

Spinning a hub is 100% related to the amount of load put on it. The biggest load on a prop is the hole shot. Since it's not spinning there, I don't think the issue is the hub. But go ahead and match-mark the bug to the prop and verify.

Again - just thinking out loud there.

Check for growth on the bottom of the boat or some type of obstruction or even a fouled and/or damaged prop.

Reactions: Ekea

seasick

Reaction score
If the prop has spun and continues to spin under load , an easy way to test for slip is to get both motors running at a slow speed and then jam both throttles all the way forward . If a prop is slipping it will cause a much faster surge in revs than the motor that is not slipping . Just look at your tach data.

Ky Grady

GreatGrady Captain
Staff member
Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
My Yamaha dealer in Charleston replaced my rods in my PT 4 blade because I had vibration at idle speed. Haven't tried out the new rods yet, but seemed like an easy replacement.

20230702_195317.jpg

Reactions: SmokyMtnGrady

HMBJack