1997 208 Adventure

fullphase

Reaction score
Hey all,
New to the forum, as I am looking at purchasing a 1997 208 Adventure. I am new to Grady's and just wondering if I can get some help on pricing/power from some experienced members.

The boat has a hardtop, is fairly clean....by know way emaculate; comes with ok electronics, a 2006 8hp high thrust yamaha (electric start/trim) and a 2006 225hp Honda. I am a bit leary of the 225hp Honda mainly because I am more familiar with Yamaha. Can anyone comment on this setup? I am most concerned with the Honda. Is it too heavy for this boat.....how will the gas milage be......is the 225hp from this era reliable or were there major problems.
the asking price is $29000. (Canadien Dollars).

Any thoughts/advice?

thanks.
Mike

magicalbill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Marlin
Hey fullphase;

I am not really knowledgeable on this setup, but I can help a little. a 208 owner would be best to comment here.

The 225 Honda is on the verge of being too heavy for the rig, especially when you add the weight of the 8 HP kicker. Obviously the boat has been re-powered, so Grady may not have given the install the A-OK in terms of stern weight.

Before you purchase, call Grady and ask them for their thoughts. I would also view the boat in the water, noticing how low she sits aft. Are the scuppers submerged? If they are a little, it doesn't matter. (I have a 232 Gulfstream and mine are somewhat submerged..they still drain fine.)
Then, during your test drive, see if she porpoises underway from too much stern weight. Do you have to compensate with tabs and engine trim to get her to stop oscillating? This is a bad sign. If she runs level with no assistance from tabs & trim, it's probably fine. (Remember, I'm talking about fore and aft porpoising; I am not referring to using the tabs to level her from side-to-side to compensate for weight or quartering winds.)