testing a transom for soundness

mikekc44

Reaction score
How do you check your transom for dry rot or other problems that would require replacement or repair?????

Doc Stressor

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
I'm not a professional surveyor, so I don't have a moisture meter. The first thing I do is to look for any structural damage such as dings that go deeper than the gel coat. Then I look for screws in the transom such as transducer mounts. I take out the screws and look to see if any water runs out. Replace the screws using 5200 to keep them waterproof. Finally, I take a ball hammer and tap the outside of the transom fairly firmly about every 4" interval. I listen for any change in the sound. A wet spot in the transom usually goes from a sharp tap to a more of a dull thud. A really bad spot sounds hollow.

You can borrow or rent a moisture meter, but in my experience, it's often hard to interpret the results. The calibration is not absolute, so the best you can do is to look for large differences in moisture content in different regions of the transom.

I will also stand on the anti-ventilation plate of the outboard motors and try to jump up and down looking for any flex in the transom.

mikekc44

Reaction score
Thank you Doc, I will try the hammer test. The boat hasnt been in the water since 2003, Its been in my barn or a heated storage bld. Its 1983 Overnighter with twin 90's. These old engines are pretty heavy and I would like to know the transom is in good shape. Thanks again.

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
The"stand on the motor and look for flex" is a good thing to do.

Sounds like it is your boat? If so, then you can be a little more intrusive.
Remove a lower motor mount bolt and see what comes out. Get your finger or a screwdriver in there and dig.

If possible, lift the motor(s) off the transom and remove the aluminum cap. Looking in there will tell you more than anything else.